How to lose the DH in a game
Some readers have been confused a Hargrove post-game comment that if they hadn’t scored the winning run, he’d have lost the DH if they’d pinch-hit for Betancourt.
This is not the result of pinch-running for Everett with Bloomquist. Bloomquist then becomes the new DH. No harm done. This is in the rules (it’s rule 6.10):
A runner may be substituted for the Designated Hitter and the runner assumes the role of Designated Hitter.
The you do lose the DH if the DH moves to the field.
Once a Designated Hitter assumes a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game.
Side wacky note: Once a pinch hitter bats for any player in the batting order and then enters the game to pitch, this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game.
Presumably — and I’m not sure what Hargrove’s strategy would have been, but he wasn’t required to do anything — would to have move Bloomquist to short, and as Bloomquist had pinch-run for the DH, forfeit the DH.
However, some people who’ve emailed seem to believe Hargrove’s comment was “if the game had gone on, I’d have lost the DH”. That’s not the case, if that’s what he said — something else would have had to have happened.