Only triple of a season for the cycle

DMZ · September 2, 2008 at 12:34 pm · Filed Under Mariners 


I wonder if anyone’s ever hit for the cycle and only had that one triple the whole season.

Sure, one: Olerud did it, June 16, 2001, his only triple of the year.

Buhner had three (three!) in 1993, when he did it. And Alex/Griffey, they hit triples like crazy.


9 Responses to “Only triple of a season for the cycle”

  1. scraps on September 2nd, 2008 1:16 pm


  2. Colm on September 2nd, 2008 1:48 pm

    Did Griffey ever hit for the cycle?

  3. jzalman on September 2nd, 2008 2:11 pm

    You only mention Mariners. Is Olerud the only Mariner to do so, or the only person in MLB ever? Just curious.

  4. Jim_H on September 2nd, 2008 2:14 pm

    Man, I’d pay to see Buhner rounding second heading for a triple again.

    Griffey too!

    I miss those days.

  5. great gonzalez on September 2nd, 2008 2:35 pm

    Did Griffey ever hit for the cycle?

    Not that I’m aware of.

  6. Evan on September 2nd, 2008 3:45 pm

    It would be even cooler if that has been the only triple of Olerud’s career, but sadly it was not (though given Olerud’s speed – or lack thereof – would anyone have been genuinely surprised if Olerud only had one career triple).

  7. smb on September 2nd, 2008 5:25 pm

    The thing about Buhner is that he was so good at hitting a ball sky high into the gap that would bounce 20 feet in the Kingdome air when it landed. I could crabwalk a triple in that much time. Ahh, the sweet yet fading memory of abundant offense…

  8. Joe on September 2nd, 2008 6:23 pm

    Not only did Olerud hit more than one triple, he hit for more than one cycle. His other one, with the Mets, was on Sept 11 1997 — he joins Bob Watson as one of only two players to hit a cycle in both the AL and NL.

    Buhner’s, on June 23 1993, is notable because the HR was a grand slam. Four other AL players have done that as part of a cycle (Jimmie Foxx, 8-14-1933; Nap Lajoie, 07-30-1901; Tony Lazzeri, 06-03-1932; Miguel Tejada, 09-29-2001)

  9. ConorGlassey on September 2nd, 2008 6:57 pm

    A comprehensive list, from 1956-2007 (as far back as B-R’s Play Index goes):
    • David Bell – 2004
    • Chad Moeller – 2004
    • Jeff Frye – 2001
    • John Olerud – 2001
    • John Olerud – 1997
    • Chris Speier – 1988
    • Carlton Fisk – 1984
    • John Mayberry – 1977
    • Tim Foli – 1976
    • Jim Ray Hart – 1970
    • Jim King – 1964

    Gary Ward did it in 1980 with just one home run. He was the only guy I saw with that feather in his cap, although there could be others. He actually had a little power, he only played in 13 games in 1980.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.