Boone! Here comes the Boone!
Ready or not —
here comes ball not caught
Ron is talking on the TV broadcast right now about situations in which you have to “get the fourth out.” I personally have never heard of such a thing, and have no idea if he’s correct or not. That said, if he is correct, that’s about the stupidest baseball rule I’ve ever heard. Runners cannot score when the third out comes via a force out, even if they cross the plate before said third out is recorded.
Anyone want to chime in on this one? Ron sounds like he’s full of crap, but you never know.
Just wanted to point out that Scott Podsednik, the guy everyone was drooling over earlier this year (and last) as “the one who got away,” is hitting a pedestrian .254/.325/.401 so far this year. Yes, he’s being out-hit by Randy Winn.
See, I told you it would be San Diego or San Fran. 🙂
It’s not everywhere yet, but Aurilia went to the Padres for a PTBNL or cash. Now, I still think it’s crap move in that they’re saving a lot of money they’ll pocket and the team won’t get better. Buuuuuuut hey, if it means Bloomquist sinks or swims, and more playing time all around, that’s okay by me.
Generally how this works is the Padres and Mariners come to some agreement listing players that might be traded. After the season, they get back together and dicker about how much Aurilia helped the Padres, and either agree to send one of the listed players or, if they can’t agree, the M’s get the cash. That the M’s might get cash for Aurilia, given his total collapse this year, is pretty cool in itself.
I’m back from Portland, where I got via biking for many hours on Saturday (206 miles, one day, 0wn3d). I’m a little out of things, but I agree with Jason — it was weird for me to get the paper and eagerly turn to the sports section to read box scores to see how Leone/Jacobsen/etc did the night before.